Tags

, , , ,

I just watched Sleepless in Seattle for the first time all the way through. I know it’s been out for…let’s say a very long time, but I’m not much of a movie person. But while watching it, alone as usual, I realized I’ve felt that kind of love before
Why then, you ask, are you single!? Several reasons and I’m sure most can relate. Too young. Too stupid to recognize what you had. Thinking the world is your oyster and you have all the time in the world to grow up and grow old.
But then you grow up anyway, and realize that real life is boring. And lonely. Because in the real world true friends are very hard to come by, much less true love. Happiness is internal, and as an adult loving yourself is so much harder.
And it’s easier to lay blame elsewhere-you don’t get paid enough, you hate your job/boss/coworkers/professors/etc, you weren’t loved enough as a child.
How many of us actually stop and say “I love myself”. I know I don’t. But I think I should. Sure I’m overweight. I’m the only one that can do anything about it. Sure I hate my job. I’m the only one with the power to change that.
As a teenager you think you hate yourself, but your emotions are more raw and real. As a result of ridicule, hatred, rejection and alienation as children/teens, we learn to hide our feelings as adults, afraid of new grown up ridicule, hatred, rejection, alienation. We shy away from being ourselves to please other people, because that’s what we think we’re supposed to do.
Think on that. I know I will. And starting tonight I’ll try to love myself more for who I truly am, and who I know I can be.
Because then, when I actually see myself as I do in my hopes and dreams, I believe that movie love will happen again.

