Tags

, ,

I finally realized this morning where I went wrong very early on – why so many peoole get married right out of high school or while in college. You get married before you know yourself, so that you can grow as a couple instead of as an individual. 
I, for one, am still finding things I like and don’t like. But I also jumped in to a relationship at 20 and developed myself around him instead of realizing I could be my own person. However, the funniest thing is that he and I actually had a lot of things in common, which is probably why it worked so well for so long. But defining who I really am is an interesting journey.
This revelation also makes me reevaluate a stereotype of late 30s men who’ve never married. They were too busy partying or starting a career to pick just one girl, and the next thing you know everyone’s taken and no one will touch you because they think there is something wrong with you. Same goes for women in their 30s.
So while I don’t regret my relationship, I regret not getting to know myself. I’m a pretty cool person if I do say so myself. Now all I have to do is wait until I find someone just as cool as me.
If that’s possible.

