Tags

, , , ,

How long do you try to make something work? How soon is too soon to admit defeat? What is such a dealbreaker that in less than four months I want to jump ship?
I think I went in too fast and now I’m freaking out. And part of it is that we are so completely different in some aspects that I spend more time irritated than I do happy lately. You’re 30 years old, you shouldn’t be sleeping through alarms anymore. If you’re sick you should go to the doctor and actually take the medicine they give you. If you have an obligation, meet it. Don’t sleep through it. Don’t let yourself get so distracted that you just assume everything is going to be ok.
Ultimately I think I’m worried that this is just another man child. I spent 7 years having to put up with one. I finally get a chance to be myself, and low and behold I go for the same thing. One of my friends tried to convince me that sometimes you just have to put up with certain things…but to me, if it’s something as fundamental as the standard I hold myself to, I don’t know if I can compromise.
Sometimes I feel like I’m being too picky, but at the same time I don’t think I should have to always follow up behind someone to make sure they’re on time, they’re awake, or that they’ve paid bills or done their job correctly. I do that enough at work; I’d like to think my significant other could handle shit on their own.
I don’t know. Maybe I’m trying to talk myself out of it. Maybe I am being too picky. But I almost think I’d rather be alone than have to babysit another adult in any capacity. I don’t want children, so why would I continue to put up with a 30 year old child?

